Elegiac: A poem

Not long ago I published some photography on the blog. It was the first time I made my art public here; today I want to continue the evolution of Gelassenheit into a creative blog with a poem and a picture. The poem is one I’ve had for a few years; I’ve always wanted to publish it and once I almost sent it to a literary journal. But I think it means more here, and so I’m publishing it today. I hope it stands as an enjoyment and a challenge. There’s nothing more to be said, so here it is. It’s called:

Image

‘The soft grass gives way to my shoes,

playing soccer in the backyard of the house I loved

to touch the chill of autumn night,

the shadowplay of ball and child

heading out into the wolfsbane blue of evening.’

 

You pause, then

from your notes you diagnose: elegiac.

And

I don’t mind when you psychologize,

just don’t speak so loudly—

I can only tolerate whispers

 

©David B. Witwer, 2014; Photo: “Sky Fabric”

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Elegiac: A poem

  1. Lovely image and words

Thoughts?

